Professor Qué Será


As I’ve mentioned before, I didn’t do the play-by-play of the job market. Mainly because I’m paranoid.

So yes I applied for tenure track jobs. Yes I had interviews.

And now I’m happy to share that yes I got a job!

It is very far from where we currently live, which is just about the only downside. It is close to a major metropolitan area. There are international airports within a half hour.

The job itself is fantastic. I don’t think I could have dreamed a better one. The department is also wonderful and I already like many of my colleagues. It is a private R1, so I do need to really keep myself focused during this postdoc and produce!

I think that’s about all I feel comfortable sharing. I’ll keep this blog mostly about my writing and my adventures in motherhood. Though there may be some tenure anxiety that creeps in I don’t want to share anything about my department, students, teaching, or the school itself. Because, again, I’m paranoid.

I’m happy that I’m getting the opportunity to be a professor. Yay! Happy Dance! Celebration!

15 responses to “Professor Qué Será

  1. That’s fantastic! Congratulations!

  2. Pingback: Link love « Grumpy rumblings of the half-tenured

  3. Congrats! And woo-hoo!

  4. Congratulations! It’s fun!

  5. Oh, congrats! That’s just wonderful. Make the move a meaningful one: drop off less-than-wonderful memories as you move, and only take good ones with you!

  6. Woo-hoo! Congrats, and good luck!

  7. That is so awesome. Congratulations!!! Here’s me hoping that major metropolitan area is somewhere near us :)